Do you drive a car, or anything for that matter?

Will this skill of yours work by merely focusing on acceleration or merely focusing on deceleration?

Of course not!

Well, life seems to be the same. Whether we like it or not. All the components that make up life needs to be addressed and maintained otherwise we will not enjoy the ride.

According to Dr John Demartini, a motivational speaker and human/universe interaction specialist, there are seven pillars to life.

  • Financial
  • Physical
  • Mental
  • Social
  • Familial
  • Spiritual
  • Vocational

If we want a definition for pillars, this is what is said in the Google dictionary: “A tall vertical structure of stone, wood or metal, used as a support for a building or as an ornament or monument”. 

So, the basic function of a pillar is for support, that means that these seven areas are actually support systems for life.

But a pillar is usually a solid thing, that is quite strong and supports a static structure with little or no flexibility. All these areas of life are not static and influences at least one of the others.

For example, if your mental stability takes a dive and you become what people would refer to as insane, then what happens to your familial and social pillars?

If you are wealthy and your financial pillar is your primary focus and it is very strong, what happens to the social and physical pillars?

This means that we should give attention to all our pillars but realize that they must also be able to accommodate the natural fluctuating cycles of life. How do we make flexible pillars?

By basing their foundations on love instead of fear.  If we build each of these pillars according to our fears, then they will never be flexible and when the quake of life shake these foundations, they will absorb and not crumble.

May love be the foundation of all your endeavors over the seven areas of life.